New faces in TCM winners’ circle at Ipswich

First-time winners took all four races at Queensland Raceway in round four of the Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters series.

The opening race for the Dometic Trophy saw Cameron Mason take line honours debuting his immaculate Ford Mustang TransAm. John Bowe made good progress through the field in the reverse order race to finish fourth.

In Friday’s practice and qualifying sessions, 21-year-old Aaron Seton in his Boss Mustang showed great talent, setting fastest time in practice and a new lap record in qualifying. 

Third-generation racer, Aaron Seton continued his top form by taking the chequered flag in race one for championship points after starting from pole. He also set a new race lap record, eclipsing John Bowe’s two-year old record. Aaron became the youngest driver to take a race win in the history of the series and joined his father, Glenn on the winners list. John Bowe survived a number of challenges to finish third, behind Adam Garwood.

Race two was another convincing win for Aaron Seton, crossing the finish line ahead of Ryal Harris and John Bowe.

The final race of the round gave Ryal Harris his maiden TCM win in a race that featured some exciting duels back in the field. Adam Garwood thrilled the crowd to take second and Adam Bressington was third.. Aaron Seton’s fourth place together with his two wins handed him his first round win. Steven Johnson had his best result for the round coming home fifth ahead of John Bowe

Despite some early problems with his Mustang that kept him off the podium all weekend, series leader Steven Johnson remains on top of the leaderboard ahead of John Bowe, with three rounds remaining.