• PAYCE Head Office, Sydney NSW.

New Naming Partner Paynter Dixon Debuts at the Adelaide 500 - 2018

JB pushes hard in the racing at the TCM 2018 Championship in Adelaide – Brian Boyd

Brian Boyd believes the competition in this year's Touring Car Masters category is beyond tight with John Bowe at the helm for PAYCE.

Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters Shaping Up to be the Best Ever – Brian Boyd

Brian said he is a big fan of TCM and Adelaide produced another dose of exciting racing.

"The 2018 championship looks like being the best ever, with competition at an all-time high as a result of new and returning competitors and cars added to the field," Mr. Boyd said.

"The series continues to grow in appeal, and with a new naming partner in Paynter Dixon, all round support is a tribute to the popularity of the series and the effort that goes into presenting such a high-quality field.

Bowe / Johnson Battle to Continue in 2018 – Brian Boyd

"Steven Johnson and his Mustang were the winning combination last year, but not until the final race of the season when he pipped Team PAYCE driver, John Bowe in the #18 Holden Torana, for the crown. This year, all the top contenders are back and the first practice session made it clear that the Johnson/Bowe battle has not abated," Brian Boyd noted.

Brian said he was pleased to see that through 2018, the TCM cars will run a four race program at all eight rounds.

"The first race will be a reverse grid format for the Dometic Trophy. The final three races of the meeting count for the championship classes, including Outright," Mr. Boyd said.

Dynamic Practice and Qualifying Sessions Set the Tone – Brian Boyd

"Practice and qualifying on Thursday had Steven Johnson just hundreds of a second faster than Gavin Bullas and John Bowe, placing them at the back of the field for race one. The 10 lap trophy race turned out to be a thriller, with lots of brave passing moves and several cars turned around without major damage.

"John Bowe made up lots of ground in his progress towards the pointy end of the field, but laps ran out and he had to settle for 9th place. The win went to Adam Bressington in the Camaro after first across the line, Paul Freestone in a similar Camaro, was relegated to third for a kerb infringement," commented Brian Boyd.

Race Two Signals Great Battles Ahead for the TCM Series in 2018 – Brian Boyd

"Race two was like ground hog day, with Steven Johnson leading the #18 Holden Torana of John Bowe and Camaro of Adam Bressington home, replicating the result from the last race in 2017 at Newcastle. The winning margin was less than a car length and signalled some great battles to come in the future. The race itself was full of drama back in the pack with an unusually high number of cars suffering mechanical problems," Brian offered.

JB Victorious in Race 3 Thriller – Brian Boyd

"Race three produced the best battle for the lead over the three rounds with Steven Johnson quick off the starting grid and John Bowe in hot pursuit. With four of the 10 laps gone, JB decided to pounce and made a brilliant pass down the inside of the Mustang as they approached turn nine. Two laps later, Johnson called on the extra power of the Mustang to re-take the lead. With laps running out, JB repeated his previous move and executed a perfect pass to take his first victory of the season," reported Brian Boyd.

Round 1 for JB in the Title Opener for TCM – Brian Boyd

"Race four was set to be another epic battle of Torana versus Mustang but with four laps to go and Johnson leading JB, the wheels, or in this case, wheel, fell off the #18 Mustang and triggered a safety car. John went on to a relatively easy race victory and winner of the Outright and Promaster categories for round one," noted Brian Boyd with a celebratory tone.

Brian said that although it is early days, Adelaide was a strong start for John Bowe and his team and great to see him back on top of the leaderboard.

The Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters next appearance is at the Symmons Plains Raceway in Tasmania on 6-8 April - 2018

Current Standings

John Bowe 1st 196 points
Go Team PAYCE!